Rainy Friday

Hopefully I’ll be able to start coming up with more original blog titles soon.  For now though, you’ll have to understand that I’m still growing my creative muscle after years of no use.

Thanks in advance.  ❤

This week has surely been roller coaster-esque.  (Tangent: I like to make up words).  I’ve been dealing with some health stuff and yesterday was incredibly hard as I dealt with yet another issue.  Lately it seems that every time one thing heals, another arises.  I keep thinking I catch a break, and then I don’t.  Needless to say, I wasn’t the happiest little (literally) researcher.  And by that I mean there were shoulder-heaving-snot-dripping-down-face sobs in the corner of the bathroom at work.  And in my car and at home…you get the picture.

To counteract my feelings of helplessness, I made an appt with a chiropractor/functional medicine practitioner who came highly recommended by one of my LOVELY yoga teachers.  It was a rather terrifying interesting experience that is going to take me days to process.

Let’s just say I went in for my wrist pain and tendonitis and came out with a focus on estrogen dominance as the underlying cause of everything.

I’m all for this whole body perspective of health, but DAMN I did not expect it be so terrifying.  The big picture can be kind of depressing when you are 23 and have a medical history that includes joint, GI, and hormonal issues with no underlying chronic condition.

Now I know why so many of us spend our days looking at the trees instead of the forest.  The forest is dark and scary and complex and, scariest of all, all connected.

There were more tears, more realizations, and lots of heart palpitations.

All-in-all, though, I’m not sure I’ll be going back.  For one it is really expensive (and not covered by insurance).  I’m also not sure that we did anything today other then shine light on things I had already figured out for myself, just not completely consciously.  Finally, the treatment includes supplementation which I’ve always been against and potentially taking me off my birth control.  UM…

Do I think my hormones are probably off-balance?  YUP.  Does it seem like I might have estrogen dominance syndrome?  Another yes.  Can’t I treat it through food and lifestyle changes?  Why do I have to take supplements, some of which might be animal-derived (ew)?  And what happened to the body’s ability to heal itself?

In the end, I can’t say that it wasn’t what I expected.  I knew that she treats with supplements.  The scientist in me is just too analytical to accept unproven things (like supplements) at face value.  I’m not completely closed to the idea but I do need to do what i feel is right for me.

I know our healthcare field is messed up and I know about the controversy and inadequacy of the FDA and so on and so froth.  But undoing years of indoctrination isn’t that easy to do.  I’m trying to jump in full force to this world of non-Western medicine but my brain is not letting me just do it.  Some would call it weakness, others, a healthy dose of skepticism.

I think I’ll stick with the latter.

Yoga, beauty, life,

Kait xo

Leave a Reply

