Day 1: I’ve got a ticket to THRIVE

And so it begins. 

For the next 21 days I’ll be abstaining from the following as part of the 21-day Crazy Sexy Cleanse:

  • Meat
  • Dairy
  • Sugar
  • Alcohol

I’m luckily not alone on this journey, having found the Crazy, Sexy 21 Day Warrior Cleansers! group on Fbook before even deciding to do the cleanse.  With their help and support I’ll be focusing on consuming mostly alkaline foods over the course of the next three weeks.  This means I will be eating lots of the following (mostly in their raw form):

  • greens
  • veggies
  • low-GI fruits
  • beans
  • nuts & seeds
  • more greens

For more information on alkaline foods check out this great introduction and Kris’ vlog on the topic.

Working Up to It

This cleanse is something I’ve been working towards over the past couple of weeks.  Adherence to my food budget has been up and down as I adjust to consuming more veggies and less of everything else.  I’m experimenting with new foods, new smoothie combos, and new types of snacks (e.g. a baked sweet potato or celery with almond butter vs almonds and raisins).  I’ve (kind of) started meditating daily and have gotten into the habit of beginning each day with hot water + lemon + cayenne.

Last week was a major slip-up as I went on a huge sugar bender, barely meditated, and was in hibernation mode.  I blame the full moon as shit was hitting the fan in just about every part of my life.  This weekend I reset while in VT, focusing on veggie-licious meals..and enjoying my last two days with sugar + alcohol by eating too much dessert and drinking too much wine…with the people I love.  Yea it was perfect (if not recommended).

Playing by the my rules

Gluten: I have no intention of cutting out gluten completely but do intend on significantly cutting back on my gluten-intake (written as I spoon oyster crackers into my soup).  I do not believe I’m gluten-intolerant but I am curious to see how my body reacts.  As I’ve limited my carb intake (in the form of bread, pasta, crackers, chips, etc) over the past couple of weeks (again, replacing it with veggies), I’ve noticed my body feels better.  Pounds just come off, bloating goes away, and I sleep more soundly.  So I figure it can’t hurt.  Plus I already love GF grains such as oats and quinoa and products like Mary’s crackers.  My meal plan this week is accidentally GF so my goal is to consume no more than 2 servings of gluten each day (e.g. bowl of cereal + slice of bread or sandwich).  I’m hoping to taper this off as the cleanse goes on and see how it goes.

Sugar: I have decided to keep natural sugars from fruit, honey, maple syrup, and evaporated cane juice in my life.  With the exception of last week, my sugar intake is fairly low and is the form of fruit, self-baked goods sweetened with maple syrup or honey, and Nature’s Path granola (10g sugar + 5g fiber/serving). Rather than say sayonara to these, I’ve made traded them for better options.  For example, I bought cereal with a much lower sugar content (Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes: 4 g sugar+5 g fiber/serving) and have begun using only half a banana (vs a whole one) in my morning smoothie.  I’m not limiting my fruit intake but will focus on snacking on veggies instead.  As with gluten, I intend on tapering my sugar intake off as the cleanse goes on.

For a brief overview of the CSD, check out Kris’ Top 15 CSD Tips!

Final Thoughts

I am so excited to embark on this cleanse with the support of all my other C/S Warriors!  There is no way we can fail because each and every change we make is a step in the positive direction.  We might slip up but that is ok as each moment presents us with a brand spankin’ new opportunity to make a better decision.

I am oh-so-excited excited about experimenting with new foods and the raw food lifestyle.  I’ve been hesitant to jump into the world of raw foods because it seemed so big and intimidating.  Having a structured guide to help me on my way is huge for me, as is having a group of people to turn to with questions and concerns!

The greatest part about the cleanse is that it isn’t just about the physical body.  Kris’ guide includes daily prayers (mantras if you will) and affirmations.  As stoked as I am to experiment with new foods, food styles, and flavors, I’m also eager to experience the growth that undoubtedly will come from checking in and living more in the moment.  I have no doubt it’ll be rocky at times but I also am certain that the joyous moments, when I feel completely one with the Universe will outweigh (and more than makeup for) the less-than-ideal times.

I’ll be sharing parts of my journey with you here.  I decided to not set a day or format but just create as is necessary and/or desired.  It might be in the forms of pictures, videos, song lyrics, quotes, personal ramblings, or anything else.  We’ll see what each new day brings.

Thank you for being a part of this new journey on which I’m embarking.  As always, please don’t hesitate to leave questions and encouragement.  I’d love to talk more about the tenets of the CSD and cleanse and help you on your journey if that is what feels authentic and sparkly and magical for you.

Here’s to coming into our full potential and THRIVING.

Yoga, beauty, life,

Kait xo

4 thoughts on “Day 1: I’ve got a ticket to THRIVE

  1. Pingback: Why I love (and support) the CSD « yogabeautylife

  2. Pingback: Project: Food Budget, Week 21 « yogabeautylife

  3. Pingback: From My Heart to Yours « yogabeautylife

  4. Pingback: 25 | yogabeautylife

Leave a Reply

