The Best Sauce Ever.

Look at me, blogging on a Monday!  Tehe Actually I wrote this last Thursday, the night this most amazingly delicious, want to eat it by the spoonful sauce came into existence.

Clearly there is a pattern with my recipe creations: salad dressings, sauces, creamed dishes, and salads.  Aka nothing that a) can’t be saved fairly easily or b) requires a ton of ingredients.  Simplicity is one of my highest values, but this, my friends, come from a place of fear and lack surrounding food and the thought of throwing it out.

Yes, I admit, I’m still a work in progress.  And greatly admire all food bloggers.

So anyway, as I mentioned last week, I’m getting ready to move for about 1 month before making a bigger move in June.  So I’m trying to use up food I have a lot of.  Like pasta.  And pasta sauce.  And frozen veggiess.  Hence last Thursday’s combination.  I’m definitely being forced to become more creative with my food choices but I view this as a good thing.  Especially when I get delicious results!

Be forewarned, all  measurements are approximate because,  in true traditional Italian cooking style, I didn’t measure a darn thing. I’m anal about following a recipe but when creating, its anything goes!

Smoky Tomato Cream Sauce (gf, vegan, goitrogen-free)

Inspired by Happy Herbivore’s Sun Dried Tomato Basil Cream Sauce.  Serves 1.

1/4 c tomato sauce
<1/4 c nondairy milk + more to thin out as necessary
2.5 TBSP nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp each garlic and onion powders
1 tsp Cajun spice seasoning
1-2 drops liquid smoke
dash chipotle powder

Whisk together all ingredients together, adjusting spices accordingly.  Heat on stovetop or microwave.  Or keep reading and do what I did (hint: it involves one pot and one pot only).

My roomie is always making this pasta dish with pasta, peas, and a sauce that’s half alfredo, half tomato.  HH’s recipe is pretty close but I didn’t feel like blending anything.  The liquid smoke and chipotle powder seem like odd choices but they added this smoky (duh) warmth and depth of flavor.  And remember with both of those…a little goes a LONG way! Seriously, do not skip the chipotle.  It makes all the difference.

I cooked up some corn pasta, tossed in frozen peas with 30 seconds to go, and drained everything.  Then I tossed the pasta + peas back into the warm pot, put it on low heat, and mixed in the sauce and some leftover baked tofu, stirring constantly until everything was heated through.  And  of course, no pasta dish is complete without some freshly ground black pepper on top.

nom nom nom

Do you ever combine spices from different cuisines?  What are your “rules” when doing so?

I think lots of people do…this is what “fusion” cuisine is based on, right?  I oftentimes stick to “traditional” flavor profiles.  But when I throw something together and it just seems to be missing something…I let inspiration and smell take over.  Usually I grab whatever I’m first drawn to on my spice rack and then sniff the item I’m trying to jazz up plus the spice.  Believe me, you’ll know whether it goes together or not.  My past roomie/physics tutor/friend extraordinaire taught me this trick and it has been oh-so-useful.

I’m going to go thank her for that now!

Yoga/beauty/life,

Kait xo

Leave a Reply

