Zumba Training Highlights

Hi All!

I hope you had a beautiful Memorial Day weekend.  It was sunny and warm in CT and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

This happened to be a very exciting weekend for me as I finally became a licensed Zumba instructor.  I don’t talk much about fitness here on the blog but since I discovered Zumba three years ago, I’ve been obsessed.  I always loved to dance and the fusion of fitness + dancing spoke to my soul.  I can easily lose myself in a Zumba class, forgetting time and space  <–which, admittedly, can lead to awkward moments and not realize an hour has gone by.  A few years back I had considered becoming licensed…but decided to start Passion by Kait instead.  The start-up costs are approximately the same and, well, I haven’t looked back since.

I decided the time was finally right, however, for a number of reasons.  One of them is $, both making and using it.  By teaching, I am able to workout…and get paid for it.  <–a grad student’s wet dream  It will also ensure that I work out at least a couple times of week.  I can’t skip out at the last minute because I’m tired or just don’t feel like it (come on, you’ve been there too).  I have a feeling the stress relief will be extremely necessary too!  Finally, I wanted to run class the way I wanted.  I had the point where no one else’s class was really, truly cutting it anymore.  They were still fun but I found myself thinking, “I would have done that move instead” or “I can do this better.”  I’m not proud of those thoughts but finally the voice saying, “Get yourself licensed then smart ass!” was loud and incessant enough for me to listen to.  And so I registered…even managing to find a discount code!

Saturday morning I woke up at 6:40 (!) to drive from CT to MA for training. I haven’t woken up before 10 am in two weeks, never mind before 7! Having stayed with the beau the night before, I was allowed a little bit of bitching and moaning before he said the wisest words ever (he’s been full of them over the past couple of weeks bless his amazing soul): “Remember, this is what you want.”  So I got my cranky self up and ready, made breakfast, and off I went.

Sleepy but super excited!

The second I stepped in the, care the excitement started!  I had gotten maybe 5 hours of sleep, terrified I would sleep through my alarm (yes I had that nightmare too!) but the adrenaline was flowing!  The training was definitely a little different than expected but I am so happy I did it and that there are numerous job openings in Baltimore.

Like Gabby said: the Universe supports us!

The training was all day with about 6 hours of movement and 2 hours of lecture.  The whole day was super high energy and fun and though I’m a little nervous to start teaching, I have to remember that a) nothing I learned was life-changing, earth-shattering new and b) I’ve been choreographing on my own for as long as I’ve been a Zumba student.  I just couldn’t help it!  Dirty beats come on and my hips start to do their own thing.

The one thing that did stand out, likely because it rubbed me the wrong way, was the emphasis on “the Zumba formula.”  I do understand a company’s desire to maintain its image and mark but I also think its independent contractors are big girls and boys and should be able to customize their classes as they see fit (and, on one hand we are…but there are still, in my opinion, a lot of guidelines).  I’ve danced with a handful (2-3) of amazing instructors and dozens of awful ones.  My favorite instructors, to this day, didn’t do things as I learned them to be “the Zumba way” while many of my least favorite instructors followed it to a T.  As with all things, I’m looking to find the balance that works best for me.  And, of course, to be the best Zumba instructor Baltimore has ever known!

Sunday was brutal.  Even getting 8 hours of sleep I was exhausted and hurt all over. I definitely gained a new respect for fitness professionals. If you fall into that category, please share your secrets in the comments because I don’t know how you do it!  Nonetheless, it was 100% worth it.  I have a ton of music to listen to, songs to choreograph, and other instructors to network with.  I can’t wait to get started and promise to keep you updated!

Yoga/beauty/dance,

Best,

Kait xo

4 thoughts on “Zumba Training Highlights

  1. Pingback: Surprises | yogabeautylife

  2. Pingback: My First Zumba Class | yogabeautylife

Leave a Reply

