Change Your Vision

What a whirlwind couple of weeks its been.  As I write this, I’m sitting on my not-quite-yet family members’ couch enjoying some solitude + reflection on what many of my classmates (and sometimes myself, although I’ve been trying to catch it!) are referring to as our last day of freedom.

By the time you read this I will be well into my first day of Orientation.  I have no clue what my future holds and am trying to breathe deep and remember that it doesn’t matter because, at the end of the day, I’m not in control.  I’m working on opening myself to all of the goodness coming my way…as well as the (perfect) challenges that will undoubtedly accompany them.

Challenges like saying goodbye to your love…again.

Challenges like getting back to being on a strict budget + schedule.

Challenges like having your power go out mere days before you are set to go back to school.

All of these and more I’ve experienced in the past couple of days (and two weeks).  I’m currently staying with the beau’s cousins who have kindly opened their house to me so I do not melt and do have access to the internet which will really be critical because of that whole going-back-to-school thing.  They gave me a key + free reign to come and go as I please + the downstairs (ridiculously comfortable and large) couchDid I mention they’re getting married this upcoming weekend?

Needless to say, I’m feeling pretty blessed right now.  Yesterday, between the power outage plus saying yet another tearful goodbye at a train/bus/plane station (yes I know…but airport didn’t really flow right there folks) I was not feeling too optimistic.  Its amazing what three beautiful, loving pups, the kindness of near strangers, and a good night’s sleep can do for the psyche.

Today I chose to change my vision.  I didn’t 100% recognize what I was doing until my yoga class this morning when my now fave instructor talked to us about this topic.  She was quoting a story that quite frankly I can’t remember all that well.  What did stick out to me was the choice we had: to change our vision or continue live in conflict.  Each and every one of us has this choice.  And this one not-as-simple-as-it-seems realization totally calmed my spirit + opened my heart to the lesson in this conflict (because, yes, there is always one)

Maybe the Universe wanted me to have a little extra support after the beau left + on my first days of school.  Maybe it wanted to remind me that the simple life is the good one.  And maybe it just wanted to say, “Hey girl…remember that you are not in control of anything but your reaction, your thoughts, your emotions.  Choose to see this in a positive way and so it will be…because, hey, its already done.”

Yesterday I wrote this on my Passion team’s page that I needed a pick me up…that I felt ungrounded…that I only had my computer, my yoga mat, my toiletries, and a change of clothes.  This morning I realized…what else do I need?  Yoga is life…it is everything.  So long as I have my mat + my essentials (clothes, toiletries, and my computer), I can not only survive but thrive.  Looking back the Universe had been whispering these lessons to me for the past several weeks.  Sometimes, we get so stubborn it needs to jog our memories with something more, *ahem*, electrifying.  Like, you know, freak storms.

Lesson received Universe.  Thank you.

Yoga/beauty/life,

Kait xo

4 thoughts on “Change Your Vision

  1. Pingback: Unconventional Eating | yogabeautylife

  2. Pingback: 25 | yogabeautylife

Leave a Reply

