Money Saving Monday

Hello loves and welcome to what is officially Money Saving Mondays!  Now that Project: Food Budget is officially over, I’ve decided to do a quick couponing-esque write-up every Monday.  I’ll share savings and spending and my favorite deals.  Every now and then there will be a food-tastic giveaway (I’m waiting on an amazing package to come in tehehe) along with a Company of the Week.  As tips come up, I’ll post them.  And I’ll continue to share foodie photos as well.

Alright…let’s do this.  🙂

Meal Plan

*Test recipes for the fourth Happy Herbivore cookbook are starred.*

Kale Salad with Butternut Squash and Caramelized Onions (from the Body Heart 3-Day Beauty Boost)
*Carrot Soup
Vegetable Cheater Pad Thai
Nigerian Kidney Bean Stew with a Peanut Sauce (leftovers from a Nigerian Independence Day potluck I attended this weekend)

Spending & Savings

I have a $200/month budget for groceries, including food, toiletries, and household items.

CVS: $9.26
Farm Stand: $10.00
Trader’s: $11.00
Wegmans: $13.76
Whole Foods: $16.22

Total Spent: $60.24

Total Saved: $30.30 (50%)

Huzzah for a new month!  And lots of good deals.  🙂

Steals & Deals

So most of the deals I got were “end of the month” deals aka the coupons expired yesterday and are therefore of no use to anyone else.  Sorry about that.  😦  However, I would highly suggest clipping the Arrowhead Mills coupons here and here and getting yourself some free corn/rice/kamut puffs since they are only $1.99.  And great mixed in with coconut milk yogurt, peanut butter, pumpkin, and an excessive just the right amount of pumpkin pie spice.

In other news, I was super stoked because a couple of items I needed, and had been waiting to go on sale…were on sale when I got to Whole Foods!  Its such a good feeling when you have a coupon for every single thing on your list and when you discover that some of those things are also on sale.  double#win.  😉

That’s it for this week.  Wednesday I’m sharing some of my new favorites…many of which I got on super sale on a whim and ended up falling in love with.  Cheers to that.

Yoga/beauty/savings,

Kait xo

7 thoughts on “Money Saving Monday

  1. Amazing post Kait!
    I love my fresh foods and vegetables and i admit that recently spending more than my budget :S reading your post has helped me re-plan my budget.
    I look forward to reading more post on saving up as well as other categories.
    Also really liking your blog structure and content! It’s very personal and intimate and the font colors are very girly which i find matches your characteristics 🙂
    Keep up the positive energy and healthy living!
    Regards, Kelsey

    • Hi Kelsey,

      Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. I try to stay true to myself when I write and i’m so happy thats coming out.

      Also, I’d definitely suggest looking at my earlier project: food budget posts for other great tips on saving…now I just need to follow them myself! 😉

      Kait 🙂

  2. I’ll say it again – (wo)MAN I love your blog! I’m really inspired to start a food budget. I currently spend nearly $100/week which is ridic b/c I’m in a shit ton of debt from AU and I work at a nonprofit AND I’m going to grad school next year (fingers-crossed)! My question for you, lovely lady, is – how do I START this whole budgeting/couponing thing?? How do I make the transition from $100 to $50 per week in total consumption spending?? It seems really daunting. Is meal planning required for such a low budget? Man I’d really love to put $50 extra bucks in savings (or towards my CC debt) every week… xoxoxo!

    • Ok so I had a whole comment and it disappeared! Argh…

      Let’s recreate and then I have to take a stats quiz!

      First, know that it will take time to cut down your budget. Probably a few weeks…maybe a few months! Be patient, realize you’ll probably fall into some coupon newbie mistakes, and keep focused on the bigger picture.

      Secondly, choose one store (whichever one you shop at the most), and start to learn as much as you can about couponing there. If it’s WF, check out the post I wrote about couponing there: https://yogabeautylife.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/a-simple-guide-to-whole-foods-couponing/ . Let me know if you want some other good how-to guides.

      You’re also going to want to begin learning couponing lingo, some of which I go over in the WF post. Both Hip2Save and WeUseCoupons have great “newbie” series about starting to coupon and pitfalls to avoid. Be aware, however, they aren’t exclusively “healthy couponing sites” so smile and nod and go along your way with anything you disagree with. 😉

      *PAUSE. deep breath*

      The last thing I’d say is to start learning prices. Spend some time in the grocery store you normally shop at and maybe a competitor or two and begin seeing what “good” price is. Eventually, set some limits. For me that’s no more than $4/gal for nondairy milk and $0.25/roll of toilet paper. I can get those prices regularly and I stock up when I do!

      I hope that helps! I am thinking of doing some more big couponing posts on here but blog time has been minimal lately. 😦 Let me know if you have more questions and definitely read through my past Project: Food Budget posts (especially the earlier ones where I included tips). https://yogabeautylife.wordpress.com/tag/pfb/

      xo

  3. Pingback: Money Saving Monday: It’s back! | yogabeautylife

Leave a Reply

