Beauty

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving full of family, food, and fun. After an 8+ hour drive, I danced the night away on Wednesday before the beau and I split the actual holiday between my family and his. I feel blessed that we can so easily do this, something I hadn’t really recognized until I mentioned it to friends at school, (many of whom were surprised that we could so easily see both sides of our family).

Friday at midnight the beau, his mom, and I hit up Kohl’s for a few hours…and I was home and shopping with my mom by 8:45! Don’t ask how much sleep I forwent got. 😉 Black Friday is a tradition for my mom and I and although this year we didn’t have any super specific purchases to make, I couldn’t let it pass. I know some people really hate the day but its about more than just great deals for me…hence my willingness to sleep for only 3 hours. 🙂

Anyway, Saturday I relaxed at home spent much of the day learning about the Army since one of my dear friends arrived at boot amp recently. Momma had a fire roaring and I was snug as a bug before getting ready for a date night (obviously wearing items purchase the day before).

Now that you all received that impromptu recap, on to the heart of today’s post: beauty.  To be honest, I’ve been having a bit of a tough time lately.  Winter has historically been a tough time for me but this year it feels harder.  I feel like I have zero motivation…I can’t remember the last time I worked out, my eating habits have gotten out of control, its hard to get out of bed in the morning, and homework is something that other students do.  Needless to say, this break, most of which I spent with the beau, was more necessary than I even realized.  I feel more grounded, more alive, and more committed to not throwing the baby out with the bathwater. One of the things I discovered over break was this plethora of recent photos on my phone, all of which captured moments of utter beauty.  It was a gentle reminder that despite the darkness I’m currently fighting, there are so many wonderful things in my life…so many beautiful moments that I’ve experienced and captured, perhaps for times like these.  Though the photos do not depict anything particularly stunning, the memories they hold are ones hat I will cherish.

dancing the night away at formal. girls nights. neighborly love. sharing something special with the ones I love. midnight shopping for the first time. having empowered + positive women to guide and inspire me. and so very much more.

So though the photos themselves aren’t particularly stunning, I hope you enjoy the moments they captured, their deeper meanings, as much as I do.

20121127-002836.jpg

I ❤ fall foliage.

20121127-002846.jpg

mmmmmmm

20121127-002901.jpg

Kait^2 (and seriously, my hair…)

20121127-002909.jpg

1. Look at those layers.
2. I have an AMAZING neighbor. 😉

20121127-002945.jpg

Could he be more excited?

20121127-002916.jpg

What beauty have you seen in your life lately?

Yoga/beauty/life,

Kait xo

2 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been going through a rough patch. Winters are tough, and I know I find my motivation lacking for things like going to the gym. It doesn’t help that my apartment is usually cold (we don’t control the heat) so it’s extra hard to get my butt out of bed in the morning.
    I’m glad you’re feeling better after a little break. Go easy on yourself – one healthy decision at a time, and before you know it, one decision will lead to another, and another, and so on. And then it will be Spring. 🙂

Leave a comment