Qi’a™ Review

Now that I’m back, it’s time I do a little catch-up.  So let’s talk one of my favorite topics: food!

Far too long ago, the wonderful folks at Nature’s Path sent me some of their newest product: Qi’a Superfood Breakfast Cereal.  At this point I don’t even remember how I found out about Qi’a but I do remember being ridiculously excited and eager to try it.

Qia_2012 (6)

By now most of you know of my obsession with this company.  But just in case you need a reminder, here’s some of the reasons they rock:

“Nature’s Path is a family run, independent company that has been committed to organics and sustainability for over 25 years. Our goal is to be a trusted name for quality organic foods in every home – socially responsible, environmentally sustainable and financially viable. We are the number one producer of organic cereals in North America, with products ranging from breakfast cereals, granola, granola bars and waffles.

Nature's Path

All of Nature’s Path’s products are USDA certified organic, grown using a wholesome process using non-chemical agriculture. Furthermore, Nature’s Path is a founding member of the Non-GMO Project, a non-profit organization created by industry leaders to offer consumers a consistent choice for organic and natural products that are produced without genetic engineering or recombinant DNA technologies.” (emphasis added)  Source

Qia_2012 (4)

Qi’a (pronounced KEE-ah) is made from three nutrition superstars: chia, hemp, and buckwheat.  In other woods, each 2 Tbsp serving is chock full of plant-based goodness like protein (6 g), fiber (4g), iron, calcium, and Omega-3 fatty acids.  It’s also ridiculously low in sugar, ranging from 0-3g depending on the flavor.

Speaking of flavors, what are your options?  Well, you’ve got three: Original (og sugar), Apple Cinnamon (3g), and Cranberry Vanilla (3g).  You can probably tell by the above 2 photos which flavor I received.

Just in case, here’s another close-up (and my favorite photo from this shoot).

Qia_2012 (5)

The idea with Qi’a is that you mix 2 Tbsp with milk and let it gel, similar to chia pudding.  I personally wasn’t a fan of this approach, both because of the texture and because I didn’t feel full.  Then again, over the past few months I’ve come to realize that cereal generally doesn’t do it for me, even epic, calorie-dense bowls.

So instead of using it “as directed,” I got creative!

Qia_2012 (7)

My favorite way to use Qi’a on top of a bowl of either oatmeal or coconut milk yogurt, nuts/nut butter, and fruit.  <–or sometimes pumpkin, cinnamon, vanilla, and maple syrup…what can I say? It was fall!  One of the few dairy items I really miss is Greek yogurt, so from time-to-time I splurge on its non-dairy counterpart…and make bowls of deliciousness. Unfortunately, I’ve fond the nondairy version doesn’t keep me full quite as well as the Greek one did.  Enter Qi’a.  With its added boost of protein and fiber, I noticed myself feeling much fuller and more satisfied than if I had used, say, regular ole’ granola.

Because all yogurt bowls, diary or otherwise, need something crunchy on top!

Qia_2012 (9)

I also topped a couple of green smoothies with it.  This would have been awesome had I been eating said smoothie out of a bowl…with a spoon.  Because the flavor was phenomenal.  Just not while trying to drink out of a mason jar while driving to a different state.  Thankfully there was traffic so I could dig out the chunks of nutrition- and flavor-packed goodness.

At the end of the day, I would highly recommend Qi’a as a cereal/oatmeal/yogurt bowl/green smoothie topper.  Its heartier and healthier than most granola and adds great texture (read: crunch) + nutrition.  I can also see how awesome it would be on its own for my friends who aren’t super hungry in the morning. *coughAmandacough*  Or as a quick snack before or after workouts (or just because its delicious) to those who love the texture of chia gels and puddings.  Despite the fact that these latter uses weren’t for me, I had a ton of fun finding new ways to incorporate Qi’a into my diet!

This awesome product Qi’a can be found at some natural food grocers.  In addition, you can buy it online here, here, or here.

What do you think: is this a product you’d love to try?

Yoga/beauty/mmmm,

Kait o

Leave a Reply

