Money Saving Monday: Three Trips

i-love-saving-money-copy

Happy Monday all! Not sure why I’m so excited about this…probably because I feel like this week, there’s something good coming. In fact, let’s just make a pact right now: good things happen this week. Period.  😉

Before I get to the meat tofu of this post, In case you missed my *gasp* Saturday update, be sure to head over to Sunday Paper Coupons to read my guest post. I also made sure to add the link to my still-new Couponing page here at YBL.

No tip this week…my writing muse (I think I should name her…any suggestions?) has been inspiring me left and right. So, instead, be on the look out for more frequent posts and a return to more-than-just couponing topics. 😉

Meal Plan

Pasta with mustard greens and grape tomatoes.
Zuke pasta with tahini sauce and other goodness with a side of roasted taters
Curried Corn Soup (from Parade magazine. #noshame)
Some kale salad with baked tofu of some sort

Last night we had Curried Ginger and Raisin Lentils with quinoa and hummus. This is one of my go-to dishes when I need something hearty, delicious, and quick. During school there were definitely days where I cooked this while I got ready in the am. Grad school: encouraging resourcefulness, one rushed recipe at a time.

20130804-215612.jpg

Spending Savings

After last week’s awesome deals, this week was a bit of a let-down. I was convinced we only would have to go to the farmer’s market and BJs…and they didn’t have avocados and after surviving last week with only one the whole week I needed them. So off to Trader’s we went. *dramatic sigh*

Farmer’s Market: $24.00
BJs: $30.60
Trader Joe’s: $24.68
Total: $79.38

Farmer’s Market: $1.50
BJs
: $9.31
Traders: $1.50
Total: $12.31 (16%)

Steals and Deals

BJ’s

Some BJs store coupons can be printed online here. Otherwise, the coupons are included in the monthly mailer members receive and/or the in-store coupon fliers.

Buy (1) Snikiddy Sea Salt Fries (16 oz), $3.69
Use (1) $1.00/1 Snikiddy Sea Salt Fries BJs coupon
with (1) $0.75/1 Snikiddy product (4 oz+) coupon
Total: $1.94

Buy (1) Chobani 12-pack, $10.79
Use (1) $2.50/1 Chobani 12-pack BJs coupon
with (up to 12) $0.30/1 6 oz Chobani yogurt cup coupon
Total: as low as* $4.69 or $0.39/cup
*If you have two computers you can print 4 coupons so more realistically it’ll be about $7.09 or $0.59/cup which is still awesome!

Trader Joe’s

Organic lacinto kale (10 oz): $2.29
Organic carrots (1 lb): $0.89
Avocados (4-pack): $3.49
Local zucchini: $0.79 each
Raw sunflower seeds (1 lb): $1.99
Unsweetened applesauce (25 oz) $1.99
Organic frozen peas (1 lb): $1.99
Dried cranberries (8 oz)L $1.99
Chocolate chips (1 lb): $1.99

Buy (1) Barbara’s Shredded Wheat (24 oz), $3.99
Use (1) $1.50/1 Barbara’s product coupon
Total: $2.49

Buy (1) Ezekiel 4:9 loaf, $3.99
Use (1) $0.50/1 Food for Life product coupon
Total: $3.49

There you have it. Be sure to check back Wednesday for a super simple recipe.

Yoga/beauty/savings,

Kait xo

4 thoughts on “Money Saving Monday: Three Trips

  1. Thanks for trying and linking to my lentils recipe! Wow it’s a couple years old and I never knew anyone actually went back and looked at those and I am glad to hear you did – and that it’s a go-to for you! That’s wonderful news to hear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

