Money Saving Monday: Welcome Back Edition

i-love-saving-money-copy

Has anyone else missed these posts? Gosh knows I have! The past few weeks have been utterly insane and grocery shopping has been a luxury I’ve missed desperately. So today I committed to relishing in my trip. As I wrote in my Passion by Kait newsletter this week:

“Me? I’m going to curl up with a good book, a cup of tea, and the kitty I now share a home with. On Saturday I’m going to dance my heart out at a special Zumba class and indulge in a decadent breakfast afterwards. And Sunday I’m going to take my time at the farmers’ market, thoroughly experiencing my visit rather than rushing around like usual.”

I did all of the above this weekend, along with volunteering at a work event and getting to hang out with co-workers after. There was dancing, delicious food, practical jokes, cuddle time, and a boatload of beauty. And today there was epic grocery shopping. 🙂

Meal Plan
*I’m currently testing for the fifth Happy Herbivore cookbook. Test recipes are marked with an asterik*

Ragut* with Pineapple Rice (Happy Herbivore Abroad)
Belizean Beans* over baked sweet potatoes
Arugula Pear Salad (with Tofurkey slices and no cheese)!
Farro with Leeks and Balsamic Roasted Brussels Sprouts
Rainbow Greens (Everyday Happy Herbivore) with Curried Chickpea Salad and rice
Split Pea and Edamame Hummus
Non-Mexican Vegan Mac & Cheese

Spending Savings

Farmers Market: $30.00
Safeway: $27.32
Total: $57.30

Farmers Market: $5.00
Safeway: $24.08
Total: $29.08 (51%)

Ok so two things to note: 1) the farmers market is doubling all food stamps*. Huzzah! And thank you Kaiser Permanante for the grant that allowed this. So that’s how I saved my $$$. 2) I know I overspent. But because of point #1, I’ll still be able to stick to my budget for the rest of the month. #win

*After five months of job hunting, and though I did get a part-time job, I needed to look into options that would help me out. Though admittedly I struggled with a bit of embarrassment about this, another of my classmates bravely posted about her experiences signing up for both food stamps and Medicaid. I know this can be a polarizing issue but I also want to work to decrease the stigma around something that should carry no shame. In my opinion, asking for help is one of the most difficult and most beautiful choices you can make. I’m glad I did and ever so grateful that a system is in place to help those of us who need it.

Steals & Deals

Safeway is one of my fave places to shop. Their regular prices are nothing to write home about. In fact, I’m pretty sure that Whole Foods’ frozen veggies are cheaper. But their sales, the fact that they double manufacturer’s coupons under $1.00, and their Just for You (J4U) personalized deals make it possible to get some ridiculously low prices!

Herdez Canned Salsa: B1G1 free ($0.99 for 2)
O Organics 1 lb salad mixes: $5.00
GT’s Kombucha: 2/$5.00
Avocados: $0.95 (J4U personalized price)
Bananas: $0.59/lb
(J4U personalized price)

Buy (1) Libby’s Pumpkin (15oz), $1.99
Use (1) $0.50/1 Libby’s pumpkin, 15oz+ coupon
Coupon doubles
Total: $0.99 or $0.07/oz

Buy (1) Muir Glen Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes (15oz), $1.50
Use (1) $0.50/1 Muir Glen canned tomatoes coupon (no longer available)
Coupon doubles
with 10% off any canned J4U promotion
Total: $0.35 or $0.02/oz

Buy (2) Blue Diamond Coconut/Almond Almond Breeze (32oz), $1.99
Use (1) $1.00/2 Shelf Stable Almond Breeze milks coupon (no longer available)
or (2) $0.55/1 Blue Diamond Almond Milk (SS 10/13/13)

Total: as low as $1.78 or $0.89 ea

Buy (2) Triscuits, $3.54
Use (1) $1.00/2 Triscuit crackers coupon (SS 10/20/13)
Total: $2.54 or $1.27 ea

Buy (1) Almond Dream Bites, $3.50
Use (1) $1.00/1 Dream Non-Dairy product coupon
Total: $2.50

Buy (1) Tofurky Peppered Deli Slices, $2.50
Use (1) $1.00/1 Tofurky product coupon (DC Vegfest)
or (1) $0.75/1 Tofurky item coupon
Total: as low as $1.00

Though my late-night trip to Safewy last week won (I saved  more than I spent), I’m happy with how this week’s trip turned out. I might not be a regular, but I couldn’t say no to the cheap avocados! If they give me that again, they’ll definitely have won my heart!

Until next week…

Yoga/beauty/savings,

Kait xo

Leave a Reply

