Money Saving Monday: Standing On Line

Um can we talk about how its been over 2 months since I’ve posted one of these? What the what?! Unfortunately, this reflects the fact that I haven’t done “regular” shopping in about just as long. There’s been holidays and trips back-and-forth to CT and “getting by” grocery runs and mid-week ones and “I need to buy new face wash + moisturizer because my doctor said so” ones and… well, you get the picture.

This week, however, this glorious mild week, we had a “normal” week. Well, normal with regards to grocery shopping! By that I mean I couponed + meal planned on Saturday and Sunday we hit up two stores and saved a ton of $$$. In fact, we were even under budget.

Bitches I’m back!

*clears throat*

Before I get to this week’s goodness I just need to tell you a story. So Sundays I’ve started going to a mindfulness group. It’s effing amazing and I can’t wait to write about it + share some of the juicy things I’ve learned. Anyway, there’s a Trader’s right across from the subway which makes it super duper convenient to stop by on my way home. Last week, I did not know this. This week, I was smart. No seriously I even packed my couponing stuff Saturday evening when we got back from our second gourmet vegan dinner (omg guys I’m so effing lucky in this city…so. many. vegan. desserts) so I wouldn’t forget.

ANYWAY…I decided to pop into Starbucks before going to Trader’s. I had a coupon + a gift card so heeeeellllloooo free coffee. When I walk back to Trader’s, however, I see all these people waiting outside. In a line. And I realize…holy shit, the store is at capacity and I have to wait on line to get in. <—yes ‘’”on line.” I’m a New Yorker now folks and this is how we roll Thankfully I had my coffee (plus a deeeeep desire for cheap produce + pantry staples) and the line moved pretty darn quickly.

It was so worth it too. Why? Because the midtown Trader’s is a magical place that’s three stories (ok the first floor is just where you enter but shhhh indulge me here) and includes so many goodies I haven’t seen anywhere else. Don’t ask me what because a) I didn’t write them down and b) I was trying to figure out where the heck everything was and wandering around in circles. But there were fancy items and how could there not be with two whole levels of Trader’s goodness?!

It also was magical because while I’m picking out bananas (I kid you not…seriously, could I make this up?!) I hear someone say my name. When I turn around its one of the girls I was friends with at the Trader’s in Worcester! There were a lot of high pitched squeals and screamed profanities. From my end only since, you know, she was working. But guys…its been almost two years since I’ve seen this girl. And in the recesses on my mind I remember that she moved to New York (I even remembered that she was living with family out in Long Island what what!) but what are the effing odds?! I seriously just kept saying “holy f*cking sh*t I can’t believe this” and “omfg I’m so excited to see you.”

True story: I have a potty mouth.

Anyway, let’s talk about saving money!

Meal Plan

Pizza
Harvest Chili with Cornbread (Happy Herbivore Light & Lean (HHLL))
Creamy Avocado Pasta (usually lightened up by subbing water for 1 Tbsp of EVOO) with “Chicken” Strips
Pear & Lentil Salad (HHLL)
Skinny Puttanesca (HHLL)
Creamy Kale Salad (HHLL) with Broiled Tofu and Lemony Couscous (HHLL)

Ok I’m a bit obsessed with HHLL apparently. Mostly because I had to meal plan in a rush and it was right in front of me and the recipes are fresher on my mind so I knew how I could use some of our leftover produce from last week. Like the many avocados that have taken forever and a day to get ripe. *le sigh*

Spending Savings

Trader Joe’s: $26.23
Whole Foods: $49.59
Total: $75.82

WHAT UP! *happy dances* Also we totally got 5 full bags of food for this. I was so damn excited.

Whole Foods: $26.00
Total: $26.00 (34%)

yes yes yes yes yes

Steals and Deals

Trader Joe’s

Organic Tomato Paste (BPA-free can): $0.89
Organic Tomato Sauce (BPA-free can): $1.49
Salsa: $1.99
Whole Wheat Couscous (): $1.99 <—#amazing
Organic Carrots: $0.89
Craisins: $1.99
Golden Raisins: $2.69
Bananas: $0.19 ea

We got other stuff but I think these represent the best deals.

Whole Foods

Organic Kale : 2/$4.00
Blood Oranges: $1.79/lb
Grapefruit: $0.99/lb
Sprouted Seed Bread: 2/$6.00
Whole Trade Peppers: $3.49/lb
Cedar’s Mediterranean Hommus: 2/$5.00 <—yes!

Buy (1) Back to Nature Cracker, 2/$6.00 (reg $3.99)
Use (1) $1.00/1 Back to Nature Product coupon
with (1) $1.00/1 Back to Nature Product Jan/Feb Whole Deal coupon
Total: $1.00 (holla!)

Buy (2) Beyond Meat Chicken-Free Strips, $7.98 (reg. $10.78)
Use (1) Buy One Beyond Meat Product Get One Free coupon (newsletter subscribers)
OR (2) $1.00/1 Beyond Meat Product coupon
Total: as low as $3.99/2 or $2.00 each!

Olivia’s Organics Salad Mix, 1 lb, $6.99
Use (1) $1.00/1 Olivia’s Product coupon (NLA)
Total: $5.99  <—cheaper at BJ’s but more convenient at WF

Welll that’s all for this week folks. Now that things are settling, I’ll be back to blogging more regularly. Huzzah!

Yoga/beauty/savings,

Kait xo

Leave a Reply

